Planet Urth: Post-Apocalyptic Flop

planet urth

Planet Urth was a free eBook with an interesting post-apocalyptic blurb that made me think I wanted to read it. And although I made my way through it in about three days of not really committing to it; I can’t say that this book was one that compelled me to go out and buy the remaining three of the series. There were a couple of good things about the novel, but overall I found it lacking and unoriginal.

One of the more annoying aspects of the novel was pacing. I was a quarter of the way through it and still wondering what direction it was trying to take. I actually stopped to remark to my boyfriend, an avid reader, that I didn’t know when it was going to pick up. Because of this, the novel was hard to get into, even though I knew that at some point the plot would begin to drive the story.

The second thing I found lacking was originality. Mostly this was due to the plot devices, once the plot got going, but in Planet Urth it felt that the biggest and most important aspect was the “love at first sight” the main character, Avery, had with a boy her own age—one of the first humans she’d seen in years apart from her younger sister. Don’t get me wrong, I love romance, but I love it more when it’s not sappy, silly and over the top. At every turn Avery was waxing poetic about Will and it left the book feeling ultimately hollow. There were other devices that brought the two “together”, but as I don’t want to spoil any potential readers, I won’t go into it.

The third thing I found woefully inadequate was the character development. Now, in a good story even the side characters and minor characters have some development. In this case I saw almost none. There were hints at some small improvements, but for the most part the characters were a certain way and that was the way they remained for the entirety of their appearance in the novel.

However, there were some aspects that the two authors, Jennifer & Christopher Martucci, were good at writing. For instance, the descriptions of everything from Avery’s walk through the forest to the flashbacks in her dreams, were all very vivid. I felt like I could picture everything so clearly that I could have been there with the characters—this is something that a lot of writers skip over or have an underwhelming amount of in their books.

While I do applaud their creativity in plot idea, I don’t feel as though it were executed very well. Lots of little things stood out to me that didn’t make sense or were out of place, not there at all, or picked out of a hat. I would give Planet Urth a 2.5 out of 5 stars and only recommend this book to those looking for an easy read and are into post-apocalyptic plots.

Tell me what you think!

