A Little About Parkyr

This is me.

This is me.

So I never really did an “About Me” or a “Why” post, so here goes for Sexy Saturday (because I’m sexy, right? [don’t answer that]).

My name is Parkyr (that’s a last name, not a first name), and that’s it. That’s what I go by. You probably won’t get any other name from me unless you go venturing off onto my author website (here), which then gives you my nom de plume “Forrest Parkyr”. If you really want to call me Forrest I promise I won’t bite your head off for it (Dae-jahh, for instance, calls me this). I’m 24 years old as of this post; 5’6” and a little chubbier than I’d like. I was born and raised in good old Vermont, which is where my parents still reside. They have a horse farm there (here) and my ponies are all happily well fed and waiting there for me to visit them. In addition to having ponies (which are actually horses, except Leo who is actually a pony), I have a cat who has traveled to Virginia with me—his name is Hoax and he’s a black Maine Coon cat. He’s awesome.

This is Hoax.

This is Hoax.

Back at home I have another kitty, NoiseN, who I’ve had since I was 14 years old. She still acts like a Princess and boy oh boy is she ever. She likes to stay there with her companion (my Mum’s cat), so that’s why she doesn’t come with. She’s not good with change (hey, I didn’t used to be either!). My puppy dog is Hazel, a little long haired dachshund. She’s adorable and gives puppy eyes to everyone. Especially if they have food. There’s a turtle, Shikamaru, as well. I absolutely adore animals, can you tell?

Okay, so more about me: I’m an author with one book published. While I work on others I work a regular day-job and now I’m also on oDesk, ghostwriting for a couple of different people. They’re not my first choice of projects, but I get a bit of money for working on my writing. It helps. I have plenty of projects in the works, The Weeping Year being the closest to being finished. I’m in no hurry to complete it, but simultaneously I can’t wait for it to be done.

I got into blogging early on, but it wasn’t as structured and pointed as this blog is. I’ve never done something daily, so this is a bit of a challenge for me. I’m open to suggestions and inquiries alike, I love talking to people and learning more. I love new experiences.

FAQ

1. Are you a girl or a boy?

Uh, I’m a girl.

2. Why so many animals?

Because I’m crazy. No, I just prefer animal companionship to humans.

3. What kind of day job do you have?

A retail one.

4. What’s your name again?

Parkyr [par-kur].

5. Marvel or DC?

Even though I have tons of Batman and Superman paraphernalia, Marvel every time.

6. Favourite Genre?

Supernatural/fantasy/sci-fi. This includes books, tv shows, movies, etc.

7. Music?

Alternative, mostly. A little pop, a little country, some classic rock.

8. What do you write?

My original works are generally fantasy oriented, but most of my works are included in the “Young Adult” section.

9. Favourite Authors?

Richard Adams, Brent Weeks. I may occasionally include others, but those are all-time faves.

10. How did you come up with Parkyr’s Perspective?

It was something I always wanted to do and I finally had enough time and energy to put into doing it.

 

If you have any input or think something should be included here, feel free to comment below or ask your question. I will be sure to reply and include it above!

Tell me what you think!

